It’s A Good Life, If You Don’t Weaken

Posted: February 28, 2012 in Uncategorized

Well, if you can believe that I was busy throughout virtually all of business hours yesterday, I managed to get pretty exhausted. Saw something pretty neat though.

So I’m watching The Voice on NBC this season, only because I am such an unabashed fan of the wonderful performances of Lex Land, and she revealed that she was going to be a contestant this season. I sat through episodes 3 and 4 with no sign of her after learning that I didn’t miss her during the first two episodes, and with last night’s show being the last of the audition episodes, it was guaranteed goodness.

In typical Lex fashion, she perfected a Bonnie Raitt song I hadn’t heard in years and really never gave much thought to and won the attention of all of the judges besides Christina Aguilera (whose presence on the show kind of annoys me). One thing that she brought up and that the judges noticed was a sense of stage fright, which I can certainly understand, but it is weird to see a performer I’ve been listening to for a while now, who I have seen live do amazing things, admit to shaky nerves. Maybe there’s hope for the rest of us shy guys. I for one felt pretty inspired by the way that she still went out and did it, and not only did it but did it well enough to move on.

And now I have to keep watching every week.

Leave a Reply

