The Garage of the Mind

Posted: March 1, 2012 in Uncategorized

Alright, March. Me and you, in the name of progress, we’re going to get some things done here. Starting today. No slackoffs. My to-do list is already all set up, it’s a bit lengthy, but then start-of-month usually is, just like end-of-month.

I continue to get tired in the early evenings for the most part, although last night it didn’t really start to hit me until around 9. I was out like a light at 9:30. Part of me would like to go back to something about more normal to me, but then waking up at 6 and 7 every morning is a pretty sweet deal. Gives me all the daylight I can handle to get all my work done, and then by the time the sun goes down, I’m burnt out enough that I’m ready to unwind and, yes, get ready for bed again.

Make no mistake, on an average day, the life of the work-at-home freelance writer is anything but glamorous. I have plenty of free time, but whenever I have any free time for anything, there’s always a voice in the back of my head saying “Work. Earn money.” It can be difficult at times to turn off. Perhaps the biggest perk of all is my ability to earn money almost constantly. If only I had a work ethic to match that constant churn.

Comments
  1. Jen says:

    “whenever I have any free time for anything, there’s always a voice in the back of my head saying ‘Work. Earn money.'”

    YES! THIS! It’s fucking torture some days. I’m so glad I can keep my own schedule and work in the comfort of my own space, but the price is that there’s no quitting time and no office to leave behind for the day ro the weekend. It’s a heftier price than people understand unless they’ve experienced it.

Leave a Reply

