Teenage Mistake

Posted: June 12, 2012 in Uncategorized

I watched the clock every day in 4th period algebra. Not because I was miserable, or because I wasn’t interested in the subject matter, but teachers knew better than to fill up an entire period with a lesson, and when you present a human being, any human being, with the choice to be free or to have to be somewhere doing something mundane and boring, well, some birds just gotta fly.

So I watched the clock, even though I knew that being conscious of time only made it move slower. I could see past that though, see that every jerk of the second hand was another second I was closer to grabbing my bag and walking out for at least another sixteen hours. It wasn’t much, but it was enough.

And while I was busy doing this, I was busy missing out on a lot of things going on around me. My teacher staring at me blatantly not doing work and shaking her head. The girl I had a crush on flirting with somebody much more attractive and much more socially capable than me, and the look of true pain, not just angst, on the face of someone that I didn’t know and would never get the chance to. But all I cared about was anticipating the sound of that bell.

Leave a Reply

