Pulling Triggers

Posted: June 28, 2012 in Uncategorized

When I was young but not so young, I wanted to make video games for a living. Deep down, I still want to, but the process has changed so much, not just from the 16-bit era to today but also in the sense that it’s not at all the way I imagined it. The things I thought I was doing when I was “making games” was really just writing stories, and when I tried actually making games, i.e. writing code, I learned I had no aptitude for understanding it. So when the idea was presented that writing was a profession, I thought well wouldn’t that be nice, and went to college to learn how to write code.

The fact that we are where we are right now should tell you everything you need to know about that.

It doesn’t change the fact that I’ve still wanted to stick my hand in the gaming industry’s pool however possible. The most familiar suggestion is that of game journalism, but you have to understand that I see what’s out there and it sickens me with its flat delivery and fluff over substance and thought. It’s Jet Puff, and I want rare brisket.

Well, someone just took my order. I don’t know how things are going to shake out, I don’t know if the thoughts I’m having are viable in the slightest, but a big chance in on the horizon, and I really want to pour my all into it like I haven’t done for so many things. I have a chance to do something I really fucking care about, and I want you all to see what the end product of that kind of drive looks like.

Comments
  1. Jen says:

    I have all my fingers crossed for you, bro. …It’s making it really hard to type, but if things pan out for you, it’ll be worth a slow-down in production. 😉

  2. Carl Radon says:

    Sounds great. Have fun.

Leave a Reply

