The Longest Instant

Posted: December 9, 2012 in Uncategorized

I’ve woken up for 14,953 days now, sometimes sick, sometimes tired, sometimes alone. In a total of 11 different beds, in a total of 16 different apartments or houses, and this is of course not counting hotels, nor couches after a particularly wild party or childhood sleepover. My hair has gone from none to blonde to brown to gray to approaching none once more, I became bonier, then chubbier, then taller and thinner, then slightly more muscular, and now I have been growing out at the edges. My interests have changed dozens of times but curiously I find myself drawn to the same things I was interested in as a child – animals, baseball, cars. I can’t eat ice cream anymore, but I’ve eaten at least 36 birthday cakes. Some years there were no cakes, others several. And again, this doesn’t include other people’s cakes, of which I’m sure I could total up a number somewhere deep in the hundreds. They say that things change, but I think that’s because people have a very difficult time looking at the long-term, because we’re so zoomed in on our world and our life, always looking out at it through the same two eyes that things seem so radically different, but really it’s the same. I want to be happy, I want to be loved, and I want more cake.

Comments

Leave a Reply

