The Blitzkrieg

Posted: December 16, 2012 in Uncategorized

I watched him, standing over the tall stool of his table, knocking back beers with his friends and laughing, an eye on every passing skirt, and I wondered “How the hell did you get here? Who invited you along, who thinks you’d be a fun person to spend a Friday night drinking with?” They don’t understand, I think. They just know that you were available and subscribe to a philosophy of more and merrier, they didn’t even know if you would be interested in saying yes. But here you are and so, here I am. Drinking my water, leaning back in a booth by myself just watching and wondering. Do you think they know? Do you think any of them have figured it out? Are you afraid they might? Somewhere behind your antics I see the stillness in you. You lose yourself in the moments but I always find you and you’re worried that they’ll think you’re weird or crazy. Well, I hate to tell you this, but you are weird, and you are crazy. And once you decide to stop this masquerade, the clock’s going to strike midnight and you’ll be back in your apartment, alone, quiet, and unable to sleep.

Leave a Reply

