Purgatorio

Posted: April 11, 2013 in Uncategorized

I am in a room with four walls, a ceiling, and a floor. There is a light, a mirror, a window, and a lot of junk laying around. Things of such an assortment that I could not identify the intention of this room if I tried. Also, no door. Clothes are in piles against the walls or in the corners. There’s the occasional frying pan or fistful of silverware laying about, but no stove. Not even a fixture like a sink or hell, a toilet. The window is open, and it smells like flowers inside. Still, I am so perplexed and baffled by the puzzle laying before me that it does not even occur to me to detach the screen and leave to a less confusing place. Instead I lay among the discarded miscellany and try and make sense of it. I organize it into piles like things people use daily, or categorize the piles by what room I would keep the item in in my own house, but no one pile seems to stand out as a clear winner unless I cheat.  All I have with me here is an unanswerable question and the smell of flowers in the morning air.

Comments

Leave a Reply

