The Secret Everyone Knows

Posted: February 2, 2014 in Uncategorized

Sweat. Gasping for air, a sudden feeling of dread and shame. Take stock of surroundings, everyone is silent, asleep, not present. Nobody knows. Or maybe they do, and the denial is just finally catching up. It’s possible. Anything’s possible. Could just skip out now, start fresh. Could destroy the evidence, increase my odds, but then…I need it. I don’t, but it’s comforting to have. I like staring right back at me and knowing what I’m capable of. Could be open about it, show people, tell people. It’s not against the law, it’s not even all that strange. But I don’t want people to know. Don’t want to have the conversations and the explanations and then get those slightly tilted looks in the future. For the time being, people have an image of what I do in their head and that suits both them and I just fine. Why tamper with greatness? So I make sure the closet door is more tightly shut, have a good stiff middle-of-the-night shot of rum, and try to sleep the rest of the way to morning.

Leave a Reply

