Unending Sugar Parade

Posted: February 21, 2014 in Uncategorized

I am in dangerous territory. I’d been sleeping at normalish times for what I have to assume is the better part of 2 months. Maybe just one. Time is slippery like that. Anyways, after a great deal of work and deadlines and a smidge of asthma, I find myself up until 4 every night, pounding keys trying to get things done in time for the next day. Weekends are a little difficult, as I need to catch up, but I also need to unwind and take a break. That came up in work today. Not in a “You should take a break.” fashion but more like a needing to hit a deadline to write an article about the necessity of taking a break. The irony isn’t lost on me. I like to think it rarely is. But the whole thing feels very adult to me, working all the time, and a long dinner with friends that was very enjoyable. The subject of our conversation was loud and very juvenile, but that’s what getting old is kind of about – not getting together to do things, just getting together for fun. You let the fully grown people entertain themselves with ideas and stories. I liked it.

Leave a Reply

