Scaling the Peaks of Mt. Kill

Posted: March 13, 2014 in Uncategorized

The dive off the side of the hotel was easy somehow, having been stripped all of my clothes. I fell through the warm summer air, the speed of my descent making the low temperature of my body that much more apparent. The artificial body of water got closer and closer. Looking back, there was no way I should have survived, but I always knew I would. I broke the surface and arched beneath like a dolphin at play, ready to rise up for air once more. The laughter and the pointing followed. I don’t know why I was being shamed for who and what I really was, but that’s society for you. Somehow always five steps back for every step forward. I made my way back up through the hotel, stealing gasps and attention even though I was doing my best to return to my room undetected. By the time I got there, the police were already waiting for me. I didn’t resist. How could I put up a fight when I didn’t even bring a shirt to the gunfight?

Leave a Reply

