The Aspiration of Flame

Posted: April 3, 2014 in Uncategorized

I used to skip stones across the drainage ditches that lined the streets. When it wasn’t the rainy season, they would be full of skaters trying to get the closest thing they could have to a public, makeshift half-pipe, and nobody really batted an eye. They weren’t vandals. They weren’t causing problems. They just wanted a place to skate. When it rained, those ditches belonged to the frogs and I, just a symphony of nature and technology in call and response. There were no voices here, no talking heads. No politics, no science,  no humanism. Just a way for me to find solitude in a city full of a million people. I’m sure I got all kinds of sidelong glances and murmured comments from passing vehicles, but I’m sure the skateboarders did too. Nobody understands the ones who stray from the norm. Not even our peers. It’s a lonely life to see the world in a different way, but at least I have water, stones, and frogs. And I know they always come back to see me when the rain falls.

Leave a Reply

