Belief Structure

Posted: June 16, 2014 in Uncategorized

Look, I don’t watch MLS. I don’t watch Bundesliga, or Cruz Azul games on local channels. I don’t watch UEFA games, I don’t watch the Premier League. But I love the World Cup. I love the Women’s World Cup. These are games that really feel like they matter on a historical perspective. And so for that reason, I am elated and thrilled to watch World Cup matches. And I have not been disappointed this year. I just watch the US pull out a nailbiter against hated Ghana, and I am full of nothing but optimism. I mean, we finally have a real soccer chant this year, even if we stole it from college basketball (who in turn may have stolen it from college lacrosse). Everything just feels right this time, and I feel like if we can beat Portugal, and it seems like maybe we really can, then we have a good shot to go all the way through. I just don’t know how much more my lungs and heart can take it. It’s a stressful game when it hovers just a point away, and a point can be scored in any given moment.

Leave a Reply

