Chemical Science

Posted: June 24, 2014 in Uncategorized

All my life I have been puzzled by the claims on the bottles of laundry detergent boasting a number of loads in the hundreds. I have purchased these detergents, thinking I was getting something that would last me a long time; a purchase worth making in the name of thrifty spending. I’m not anal or banal enough to count the number of laundry loads performed between purchases, but considering my average of 2-3 loads a week and the fact that I was buying detergent at least more than semi-annually, I figured something was wrong. It wasn’t until last week that I read the directions on the bottle, because who needs directions for laundry detergent, and came to discover that I had been routinely using four times the amount of necessary detergent on each of my loads of laundry. Feeling rather like an idiot, I have now taken to having to remind myself to pour the small amount that is only required into the cap, usually forgetting and having to pour the liquid back in the bottle rather messily.  On the plus side, at least my clothes have been as clean as they possibly could be.

Leave a Reply

