Every Day Erased

Posted: July 23, 2014 in Uncategorized

Under my vigilant tutelage, the boy is finally ready. Physically, anyhow. It’s hard to say what such directives have on a mind so young and impressionable, and indeed I fear that my retirement will be reversed within the decade so that I might dispatch of a future problem. I know I am supposed to have faith in these matters, that I turned out fine, but the risk is always there. I saw it in my own master’s eyes as he trained me. A mixture of pride and fear, never able to be at ease with an exposed vulnerability. It was problematic.

Still, I watched as he disappeared into the night, following his movements not with my eyes but with the intuition that they were the right choices to make. The single-story edifice had no idea what hit it. They could and would never know, and it was a shame that they never really tried to make a fox hunt out of it. The boy returned that night with sacks full of the stolen sandwiches, and I patted him on the back twice to show my approval. In my head, all I could think was that it was one night closer to his betrayal.

Leave a Reply

