You Can But I Won’t Let You

Posted: September 30, 2014 in Uncategorized

It…hurts, to admit failure. Some people can do it with ease and grace, the way they just brush off a typographical error, with a brush of the backspace and a movement forward as if nothing ever happened. Others have a harder time letting go and pulling the plug, admitting defeat and bringing a waste of resources and energy to its logical conclusion. This is not one of my strong suits, excising tissue, trimming fat, whatever you want to call it. I’m a hoarder. I hold onto things long after they outlive their usefulness, I cram my closet full of knick-knacks and doo-dads and then wonder where all the empty space goes. Well, the time for that behavior is over. It’s time to do things differently, and do them better, and that means optimizing my time for friends and hugs and money and personal satisfaction, so to hell with your preparation, my time is worth more than negative five dollars.

Leave a Reply

