a failure, prior to the current environment

Posted: November 10, 2014 in Uncategorized

“H-hello? Can I help you?”

 

“I want my knife back.”

 

“I don’t know where it is. Daniel kept it.”

 

Rebecca mumbled something that from across the lawn was unintelligible. Even from close up it may have been. Hillary glanced around to figure out how she got here and whether or not somebody might have called the police already.

 

“Excuse me?”

 

“I said I want my damn knife back! I know why you’re keeping it from me!”

 

“Look, Rebecca, I don’t know what you’re talking about. Daniel’s got your knife. You want it, you go find

him. I’m sure he’d love to give it back to you.”

 

Rebecca rolled the word in her mouth before parroting it back. “Daniel.” She said calmly, then looked at Hillary in a way that seemed somehow less crazy.

 

“Shit…what did I just do?” Hillary mumbled to herself as Rebecca slowly walked away from her house. She should have called the cops. Maybe she still could. “Rebecca!” She called out. Rebecca didn’t even flinch. She just walked away like she didn’t even hear her in the first place. “Shit.”

Leave a Reply

