You Are The Coffee, You Are The Full Gas Tank

Posted: December 8, 2014 in Uncategorized

It’s nearly Monday afternoon, and I’ve been at this for twelve hours now, before the early risers, before the students nervously taking their final exams of the semester. I’ve been at this for a few years now too, and I know a dangerous pattern when I see one. This is my “vacation” of sorts, a time for me to not be so harsh on myself as I was in the previous couple of months, but I’m still a driven person, I still have so much I want to do, and so I am here and I am doing it. But sometimes the things I choose to prioritize or do are silly or arbitrary. Here’s an example, all morning, I have been planning to clip my nails, as my thumbnails in particular are at a length that I prefer they not be. But instead, I’ve put it off, and now in the middle of writing this post, I have subconsciously taken to biting them off. First one, then the other. So now I have broken nails to clean up, and I’ll need the clipper anyways, but only after the product is damaged. This is how mistakes are made.

Leave a Reply

