The Longest Shortcut

Posted: January 24, 2015 in Uncategorized

As I sit here, wondering how many times I’ve typed the phrase “as I sit here,” I gobble down the last quarter of my peanut butter and jelly sandwich, eating it quickly and in one bite because I type faster and work better with two free hands, and marvel at the unhealthy habits of a highly dysfunctional businessperson that I have adopted simply in the name of freedom. Freedom from the alarm clock, freedom of the write-up for not being on time, freedom to work on whatever, whenever, in the name of deadlines and time management amen. And so, my sandwich now twisting its way down through my intestines, working one way and then the next, like an unending waterslide that drops off into a pool of acid, the sandwich is having more fun than I, moving and sliding and smooshing its way through one last hurrah before being dissolved and suffering a fate that many of use would certainly like to avoid, in more ways than one.

Leave a Reply

