Die Aloud

Posted: February 21, 2015 in Uncategorized

Here in the comfort of my couch, it occurs to me to listen to the door. For people have been told they can arrive. And I have been expecting them. But at the same time, I would like it very much if they were late. Or absent. My doors are open, but my agenda is long. And the more time I have to pick at things, the less stress I feel about being an entertainer. It is a balance I strike nearly every day, coaching, inspiring, entertaining, it sounds very conceited, and to a degree it always will be, but hosting is in my blood. Facilitating, organizing, these things provide me immediate satisfaction. So I do them, and occasionally I scoot things around, I make sacrifices here and there, mostly in the time department, and I am repaid with fun, with food occasionally, and with a feeling of belonging. I’ve spent too much time in hermitage not to yearn for that feeling.

Leave a Reply

