How Long Can You Eat, How Much Can You Sleep

Posted: May 6, 2015 in Uncategorized

Sometimes, I roll my head back over the ledge of my shoulders, the way a relief is given to the stomach when you sit on a cliff with precipitous legs, and then the feeling of solid earth under more of your body offers a bit of adrenaline-less comfort. And when I do this, I feel a crunching. Not a snap, or a pop, but a long crunch that I can roll from side to side. It offers no real relief, for no pain I feel really beside a stiffness, but I take solace in it. The clinician in me says that if a bone can be popped, it probably needs it. I don’t think that’s true. And I’m no doctor. And the doctors I know would probably tell me with great glee how far from the truth I am. But there you have it, Pavlovian medicine. If it makes a sound, do it. Unless that sound is a “snap.”

Leave a Reply

