Chip

Posted: May 20, 2015 in Uncategorized

This morning, I lost a friend to cancer. Everything happened so quickly that it’s kind of hard to process how the world reached this point, today, without him. The diagnosis was barely a month ago. And then not even 24 hours ago, he was told it was terminal, that it had spread, that he had about two weeks to live. And apparently, that estimate was generous. A mutual friend sent out visitation information yesterday, that he was in hospice care and for all of his friends to come by and see him. And, for one reason or another, we who hesitated lost. I have the personal benefit of the shock of this to make it feel unreal, that it might buy me some time to simply feel numb about it, but the reality is still there. Ryan Chip has died. And he was too young. And it was too soon. And he deserved a lot longer than what he was given. Once I realize the fullness, or the emptiness of all this, then I’ll know where I stand, I’ll get back on with things. For now, I just wish things were different, and that I didn’t have to miss him.

Leave a Reply

