A Box Built For Your Life

Posted: June 30, 2015 in Uncategorized

There is a city in which I dream. It’s not fanciful, it’s not full of utopian ideals, it’s polluted and sometimes hot, there’s civic engineering problems, and then there’s this highway that scares the shit out of me. But mostly it is my utopia, see, it’s a little bit of every place I’ve ever been. Instead of neighborhoods, this city is other cities. A few blocks of Colorado. The rural sprawl of Ohio. The main thoroughfares of New Mexico (complete with nonexistent businesses that are the very things I wish I had access to). The reason why this is important is because everybody is there. I can eat donuts with my mother and cook her spaghetti before driving out to an outdoor party with a friend from one state and leaving that to watch TV with a group of friends from another. I always did want to build a city and fill it with the people I love. In my head, I’ve accomplished just that.

Leave a Reply

