Thanks for the Complicit Tact

Posted: July 15, 2015 in Uncategorized

I had a dream of commerce last night, I dreamed of the money changing hands. Buildings gone abandoned and then repurposed, the desire to find a perfectly good couch on your neighbor’s lawn for the taking. When you say even this garbage is better than what I have, so you take it. And there was a shipping service open 22 hours a day, so that you could go out at 2 in the morning and ship a package. It all seemed to make a great deal of sense, but then, I’m the one who’s up at those ungodly hours. I’ve always felt a kinship to those who work the graveyard shift, particularly in service. I could see myself there, behind the hotel desk, lazily flipping through a magazine on the off chance that somebody might have a need for me. I would rise up, my emotions mixed between annoyance at having an otherwise irresponsible job and elation at needing to do something for somebody for once. In that dichotomy, I could find peace.

Leave a Reply

