An Ending

Posted: August 15, 2015 in Uncategorized

How many things do you do in a day with the honest intention that some day they will no longer need to be done? How many of your tasks come with an expiration date, a goal marker, a finish line and a stopping point? Beyond the obvious one, of course, something that you can say I have done this, I must do it no longer? For me, there are few. But also many. I load my life with finishable goals, with endings yet to be written, and I strive to write them both literally and figuratively. How many of them do I finish? And when I finish them, how many do I go back to? The answer is too hard to count. And the reason, the treason is that we yearn to finish what we start, but we are most satisfied with the goals that require the most vigilance. Make a resolution to get in shape? Think how you feel once you’re there, once you want to stay in shape. Sometimes finishing things is not as important as we make them out to be. Sometimes it’s most important just to keep doing.

Leave a Reply

