Another Twist of Fate

Posted: January 12, 2016 in Uncategorized

Almost over this whole being sick thing. Technically probably am over it anyhow, I have a small cough and the constant urge to clear my sinuses and throat, but am not in any pain, any discomfort, have no difficulty breathing, just full of remnant mucus that I would prefer as a nucleus of a wadded up napkin than lodged tightly in my throat. I don’t get sick very often anymore, and I often wonder why that is. As a child, sickness was just a thing that happened, and often. I suspect a lot of it has to do with forced human contact: for example, as a freelancer and a home-based worker, I probably spend any kind of close contact with fewer than a dozen people every week. I think part of it may be amount or quality of sleep I get, since I no longer have to wake up at 6:30 to get on a cold bus to go to a cold school. I think part of it may be attitude. I no longer look at the world as a dreadful place and so I am in turn not made to be dreadful. Who knows. I just prefer health to sickness.

Leave a Reply

