Barry Underfoot

Posted: February 1, 2016 in Uncategorized

I’m recalling a moment, in my young, nascent career. Not really a specific moment, it could be any moment at all, really, but it’s there, and I’m wide-eyed and feeling proud and full of energy and just plugging away at work. I have allies. People who will go to bat for me. People who do, whether I need them to or not. It’s a good feeling. It’s an independent feeling. It’s a feeling that I’ve made a decision to go my own path and strike my own way through the world and it’s actually going to work and last forever and only get better from there.

Well, it didn’t. But it still could. I find myself remembering these moments now and merely shaking my head, laughing that I thought it could be so easy, chuckling as client after client builds a brand around one contract, only to lose the contract or finish the work and wonder why they can’t bounce back. The dot com bubble never burst, it simply pulled back in and keeps trying to blow itself up. That there’s a play on words. That there’s what I do for a living.

Leave a Reply

